Tech Tips / Windows NT / Users and Groups



Don't delete ex-employees

When someone leaves a company, often the first instinct of an administrator is to delete that user's account. Don't do it! Once an account is deleted, its security ID and all permissions assigned to it are gone forever. Why increase the time you spend setting up accounts for new hires?

Instead, when an employee leaves, disable his or her account and change its password. When a replacement is hired, rename the predecessor's account with the new employee's name and ID. This will give the new person in the position access to the same directories and objects the other person had, while freeing you from a lot of unnecessary busywork.

Contact Us | Authors | Subject Index | RSS Feeds

Copyright ©2007 Setup32.com