Tech Tips / Windows NT / Security

When you create a DNS zone, the name of the logged-on user is automatically placed in the SOA record

Did you know that when you create a new zone file in DNS, you might inadvertently reveal the name of the administrator account? When you create a DNS zone, the name of the logged-on user is automatically placed in the Responsible Person field in the Start of Authority (SOA) property for the new zone. If you log on with the Administrator account, or with a renamed Administrator account, that account name is placed in the field. Because this name is publicly accessible, it could give a malicious user a way to learn the logon name of the administrator who created the account.

To fix this security hole, open up the DNS manager from the Administrative Tools (Common) menu. Go into the properties of the DNS zone to the SOA record and change the name of the responsible user to something other than administrator or the renamed administrator account.

Contact Us | Authors | Subject Index | Directory | RSS Feeds

Copyright ©2006 Setup32.com